Interpreters:

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
Z

 

Weiss Peter Philippe

(02. 10. 1962)

Weiss Peter Philippe
Weiss Peter Philippe
c/o Corporate Sound AG
Centralbahnplatz 9
CH-4051 Basel
Schweiz

Tel: +41 (0)61 263 20 63
Fax: +41 (0)61 262 20 62
Internet: www.zenjazz.com www.headroom.ch www.corporate-sound.com

Biography
Composer and producer Peter Philippe Weiss is an experienced music and sound expert who, for 25 years, has been boasting a wide range of creativity in film scores, sound design and live performance.
At the age of nine, Peter Philippe Weiss began a 10-year training in classical violin. His keen interest in new musical developments made him learn the following additional instruments as an autodidact: acoustic and electric guitar, electric bass, drums/percussion, and piano/keyboards. He played these instruments in various bands and musical formations, such as Bi-Kids (git, bs, key, viol), Duure-Duure (bs, key), acid jazz sessions (bs) with Jan Spalinger and Hans Feigenwinter, as well as a busker (bs) throughout Europe. As a guest musician in 1991 with Canadian performance band, The Look People, he played keyboards and violin. Together with this band he performed at St. Gallen Open-Air, CBGB's in New York, and the 'Diamonds' in Toronto.
Peter Philippe Weiss is constantly in search of new listening experiences: For A musical journey through the Paris Métro, he roamed the Paris Métro for weeks, equipped with a digital recorder and microphone, taping thundering trains, singing clochards and mysterious underground atmospheres. He then arranged the captured sounds in a musical soundscape, thereby winning the MANOR special award in a national art contest.
In 1994 Peter Philippe Weiss founded Corporate Sound AG, thereby creating one of the earliest professional communication agencies for acoustic branding. Today, the sound branding agency from Basel attends to national and international clients in all applications of sound in corporate communication: from TV spot scores to music for films, 3D soundscapes for exhibitions and trade shows, sound installations in cities, acoustic productions of electronic media like applications for iPhone and iPad, and the implementation of corporate identity into the acoustic dimension – corporate sound. Clients include ABB, Axel Springer Verlag, coop, VALSER/Coca Cola, Deutsche Telekom, IWC, Intersport, DURAVIT, Sauber F1, Swarowski, Swiss Olympic, Swisscom, Tissot, and others. As the winner of an international sound design contest, Corporate Sound AG is Deutsche Telekom's regular contractual partner in the range of "Product & Innovation". (www.corporate-sound.com)
In 2003 Peter Philippe Weiss composed and produced the Jazz Lounge CD ZEN JAZZ, a contemplative opus mirroring values like serenity, space and time in a musical way. (www.zenjazz.com).
In 2005 Peter Philippe Weiss single-handedly realised a city sound installation in the middle of Basel's town centre, consisting of 16 different sound sources, and with the power of about 20'000 Watts, incorporating new spaces into the existing sound environment with highly realistic soundscapes. Two years later, on the occasion of the 2. Hörforum of Osnabrück University, he made sound to emerge from the sewers of Osnabrück's Marktplatz in an installation called unterwelten.
In 2008 Peter Philippe Weiss realised mindgames, his debut as a solo performer consisting of three musical story-telling soundscapes at Basel's Imprimerie. In August 2009 his unterwelten resounded in a new shape and in co-operation with Schwerhörigenverband (association of hearing impaired people) in Basel's city centre. (www.headroom.ch).
In the same year, he wrote the score for the feature film MANIPULATION starring Klaus-Maria Brandauer und Sebastian Koch (film started February 2011).
Peter Philippe Weiss acts as a consultant, composer, sound artist, sound designer, producer, speaker and guest lecturer at Universität St. Gallen, Hochschule für Wirtschaft Zürich (HWZ), and a permanent lectureship at FH Offenburg. Since 1994 he runs Corporate Sound AG, realising ambitious sound projects in the field of acoustic branding and sound design for exhibitions, museums, events and product design.
In 2009 Corporate Sound AG was awarded the red dot design award for sound branding.


Work list
Eine musikalische Reise durch die Pariser Métro (A Musical Journey Through the Paris Métro) (1988-1989)
A kind of 'film-soundtrack-song'
original-sound soundscape, bass, E-guitar, synth, piano, drums, percussion, sampler, singing voices, actors (speech)
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
A kind of atmospheric film soundtrack-song using original sounds from the Paris Métro, singing and actors voices. A Métro journey through the tubular system, with stops at three Métro stations and a dream-like musical ride through the subterranean world of the Métro.
This work was honoured with the 1990 MANOR KUNSTPREIS in the category 'special mention'.
Duration: 15' 00"
Manuscript
"Zzzip... ...ooOH?!?" (1995)
A live radio drama-performance
for E-guitar, E-bass, sampler, multitrack player (8-track), actors
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
The performance 'Zzzip... ...ooOH?!?' was presented in the former cinema 'Movie' in Basel. A melange of radio drama, film soundtrack, storytelling and rock band. Heinz Schäublin was responsible for the light design and 4-channel surround sound was used for the sound stories.
Duration: 55' 00"
Manuscript
Groovin' (1999)
for guitar, keyboard and percussion
Duration: 6' 00"
Manuscript
zen jazz (2000-2001)
A music CD with contemplative jazz-lounge
for piano, saxophone, trumpet, didgeridoo, transverse flute, guitars, keyboards, drums, percussion, sampler, noises, sound design
Large, empty rooms, minimal melodies in memory of the Miles Davis culture and lots of silence. Five deliberate compositions bound by four artificial wind voices as a counterpoint to our loud and hectic world. The association to Eastern Zen philosophy exists in a musical translation of such values as silence, room, moment and consideration. ZEN-jazz is music to think about, to reflect, meditate and enjoy. "Music that creates a warm room – for a considerate moment with oneself.
Duration: 45' 00"
Manuscript
Paola (Rätätädärä) (2003)
for song, guitar, double bass and computer
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
Duration: 4' 00"
Manuscript
HEADROOM (2005)
A city-sound intervention in the public sphere
sound collages, voices, noise collages, synth, sampler
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
'Headroom' is a multi-dimensional, multi-channel-controlled artistic sound installation in the middle of the city of Basel. An installation of previously unheard authenticity, intensity and quality owing to the ca. 120-hidden-speaker, 30 000-watt-power composed sound world in the adjoining alleys of Gerbergasse, Gerbergässlein Pfluggässlein.
Headroom constructs sensuously intensive aural worlds, tears the room apart and allows impossible and surprising situations and actions to occur that do not correspond with the perceived environment, but are non-the-less sensed as hyperreal, as 'reality' in the heads of passers-by.
Duration: 7 x 4 Min.
Manuscript
Cloud on a ship (2005)
for voice, guitar, keyboard, contrabass and percussion
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
Duration: 6' 00"
Manuscript
A long long cup of tea (2007)
for voice, guitar, piano and percussion
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
Duration: 4' 00"
Manuscript
Rain (2007)
for piano and various instruments
Duration: 5' 00"
Manuscript
Call of the Sirens (2008)
for voice, keyboard and instruments
Texts: Peter Philippe Weiss
Duration: 3' 00"
Manuscript

Interpreten:

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
Z

 

Weiss Peter Philippe

(02. 10. 1962)

Weiss Peter Philippe
Weiss Peter Philippe
c/o Corporate Sound AG
Centralbahnplatz 9
CH-4051 Basel
Schweiz

Tel: +41 (0)61 263 20 63
Fax: +41 (0)61 262 20 62
Internet: www.zenjazz.com www.headroom.ch www.corporate-sound.com

Biographie
Der Komponist und Produzent Peter Philippe Weiss ist ein erfahrener Musik- und Sound-Experte, der seit über 35 Jahren in den Bereichen Musik, Filmmusik, Sound-Design und Live-Performances ein grosses Schaffensspektrum aufweist.
Peter Philippe Weiss begann mit 9 Jahren eine 10-jährige klassische Violinausbildung. Sein Interesse für neue musikalische Entwicklungen liess ihn als Autodidakt zusätzlich folgende Instrumente erlernen: akustische und elektrische Gitarre, E-Bass, Schlagzeug/Percussion und Piano/Keyboards. Diese Instrumente spielte er in verschiedenen Bands und Formationen: Bi-Kids (git, bs, key, viol), Duure-Duure (bs, key), an Acid-Jazz-Sessions (bs) mit Jan Spalinger und Hans Feigenwinter und als Strassenmusiker (bs) in Europa. Bei der kanadischen Performance-Band 'The Look People' spielte er 1991 als Gastmusiker Keyboards und Violine. Mit dieser Band trat er am St. Gallen Open-Air, im CBGB's in New York und im 'Diamonds' in Toronto auf.
Peter Philippe Weiss ist auf der ständigen Suche nach neuen Hörerfahrungen: Für 'Eine musikalischen Reise durch die Pariser Métro', streifte er mit einem digitalen Aufnahmegerät und Mikrofon ausgerüstet wochenlang durch die Pariser Métro. Auf seinen Bändern hielt er donnernde Züge, singende Clochards und geheimnisvolle Untergrundatmosphären fest. Er arrangierte die eingefangenen Klänge zu einem Klang-Musikwerk und erhielt dafür den Sonderpreis des nationalen MANOR Kunstwettbewerbes.
Im Jahr 1994 gründet Peter Philippe Weiss die Corporate Sound AG, und schafft damit eine der ersten professionellen Kommunikationsagenturen für akustische Markeninszenierung. Heute betreut die Sound Branding Agentur aus Basel nationale und internationale Kunden in allen Anwendungen von Klang in der Unternehmenskommunikation: von TV-Spot Vertonungen, Filmmusik für Kinofilme über 3D-Soundscapes für Ausstellungen und Messen, Stadtklanginstallationen, akustische Inszenierung von elektronischen Medien und iPhone- und iPad-Apps bis zur Umsetzung der Corporate Identity in die akustische Dimension – dem Corporate Sound. Zu den Kunden gehören ABB, Axel Springer Verlag, coop, Deutsche Telekom, IWC, Intersport, DURAVIT, Sauber F1, Swarowski, Swiss Olympic, Swisscom, Tissot und weitere. (www.corporate-sound.com)
2003 komponierte und produzierte er die 'Jazz-Lounge' CD 'zen jazz', ein kontemplatives Werk, welches Werte wie Ruhe, Raum und Zeit in einer musikalischen Art widerspiegelt (www.zenjazz.com).
2005 realisiert er in Eigenregie eine Stadtklanginstallation mit 16 verschiedenen Klangquellen und einer Leistung von ca. 20'000 Watt mitten in der Basler Innenstadt und stellt mit hochrealistischen Soundscapes neue 'Räume' in die bestehende Klangumgebung hinein. Zwei Jahre später lässt er anlässlich des 2. Hörforums der Universität Osnabrück aus den Dolen des Osnabrücker Marktplatzes 'unterwelten' erklingen. 2008 realisiert er mit 'mindgames' sein Debut als Solo-Performer mit drei Music-Storytelling-Soundscape-Shows in der Imprimerie Basel (www.mindgames.net). Im August 2009 erklingen die 'unterwelten' in neuer Form und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwerhörigenverband in der Innenstadt von Basel (www.headroom.ch). Im gleichen Jahr komponiert er die Filmmusik für den Kinofilm MANIPULATION mit Klaus-Maria Brandauer und Sebastian Koch in den Hauptrollen (Filmstart Februar 2011).
Peter Philippe Weiss ist als Berater, Komponist, Soundkünstler, Sound-Designer, Produzent, Referent und Privatdozent an der Universität St. Gallen, der HWZ und in einer festen Dozentur an der FH Offenburg tätig. Er betreibt seit 1994 die Corporate Sound AG, die anspruchsvolle Sound-Projekte im Bereich Acoustic Branding und Sound-Design für Ausstellungen, Museen, Events und Product-Design realisiert. 2009 wurde die Corporate Sound AG mit dem "red dot design award" für Soundbranding ausgezeichnet.


Werkliste
Eine musikalische Reise durch die Pariser Métro (1988-1989)
Eine Art 'Film-Soundtrack-Song'
Original Geräusch-Soundscape, Bass, E-Guitar, Synthesizer, Piano, Drums, Percussion, Sampler, Gesangsstimmen, Schauspieler (Sprache)
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Eine Art atmosphärischer 'Filmsoundtrack-Song' mit Originalgeräuschen aus der Pariser Métro, Gesang, Schauspielerstimmen. Eine Métrofahrt durch das Röhrensystem, mit drei Stopps an Métrostationen und einer traumartigen musikalischen Fahrt durch die unterirdische Welt der Métro.
Das Werk wurde 1990 mit dem MANOR KUNSTPREIS in der Kategorie Spezialauszeichnung geehrt.
Dauer: 15' 00"
Manuskript
"Zzzip... ...ooOH?!?" (1995)
Eine Live Hörspiel-Performance
für E-Guitar, E-Bass, Sampler, Multitrack Player (8-Track), Schauspieler
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Im stillgelegten Kino 'Movie' in Basel wurde die Performance von "Zzzip... ...ooOh?!?" aufgeführt: Eine Mischung aus Hörspiel, Filmsoundtrack, Storytelling und Rockband. Das Lichtdesign wurde von Heinz Schäublin realisiert und die Soundstories erklangen in einer 4-Kanal Surround-Beschallung.
Dauer: 55' 00"
Manuskript
Groovin' (1999)
für Gitarre, Keyboard und Schlagzeug
Dauer: 6' 00"
Manuskript
zen jazz (2000-2001)
Eine Musik-CD mit kontemplativem Jazz-Lounge
für Piano, Saxophon, Trompete, Didgeridoo, Querflöte, Gitarren, Keyboards, Drums, Percussion, Sampler, Geräusche, Sound-Design
Grosse, leere Räume, minimale, in der Kultur von Miles Davis angedachte Melodien und viel Ruhe. Fünf durchdachte Kompositionen, verbunden durch vier artifizielle Windstimmungen als Kontrastpunkt zu unserer lauten und hektischen Welt. Die Assoziation zur östlichen ZEN-Philosophie besteht in einer musikalischen Umsetzung von Werten wie Ruhe, Raum, Moment und Aufmerksamkeit. ZEN-jazz ist Musik zum Nachdenken, Reflektieren, Meditieren und zum Geniessen. "Musik, die einen warmen Raum schafft – für einen aufmerksamen Moment mit sich selber."
Dauer: 45' 00"
Manuskript
Paola (Rätätädärä) (2003)
für Gesang, Gitarre, Kontrabass und Computer
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Dauer: 4' 00"
Manuskript
HEADROOM (2005)
Eine Stadtklang-Intervention im öffentlichen Raum
Klang-Collagen, Stimmen, Geräusch-Collagen, Synthesizer, Sampler
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Headroom ist eine mehrdimensionale multi-kanalgesteuerte künstlerische Klanginstallation mitten in der Stadt Basel. Eine Installation, die in einer noch nie gehörten Authentizität, Intensität und Qualität mittels ca. 120 unsichtbar platzierten Lautsprechern und einer Leistung von ca. 30'000 Watt komponierte Soundwelten in den zueinander hingebauten Gassen Gerbergasse, Gerbergässlein und Pfluggässlein erklingen lässt.
Headroom errichtet intensive sinnliche Hörwelten, reisst den Raum auf und lässt in den Köpfen der Passanten unmögliche und überraschende Situationen und Aktionen stattfinden, die sich nicht mit der wahrgenommenen Umgebung decken. Vorkommnisse, die jedoch als hyperreal, als 'wirklich' empfunden werden.
Dauer: 7 x 4 Min.
Manuskript
Cloud on a ship (2005)
für Stimme, Gitarre, Keyboard, Kontrabass und Schlagzeug
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Dauer: 6' 00"
Manuskript
A long long cup of tea (2007)
für Stimme, Gitarre, Klavier und Schlagzeug
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Dauer: 4' 00"
Manuskript
Rain (2007)
für Klavier und diverse instrumente
Dauer: 5' 00"
Manuskript
Call of the Sirens (2008)
für Gesang, Keyboard und Instrumente
Text: Peter Philippe Weiss
Dauer: 3' 00"
Manuskript