All indivduals:



Spina Anna

(10. 09. 1971)

Spina Anna
Spina Anna
Schönbergweg 5
CH-3006 Bern (BE)

Tel: +41 (0)31 351 49 15
Fax: +41 (0)31 351 49 15

Genre: Classical Music
Professional activity: Interpreters
* 10. 09. 1971.

Anna Spina was born in Berne. She studied viola at the music universities of Berne and Zurich, and attended course headed by Garth Knox in Paris and Barbara Maurer in Darmstadt. She later focussed on the repertoire of instrumental theatre under the Greek-French composer Georges Aperghis at Bern University of the Arts.
Anna Spina is a sought-after interpreter of contemporary music and an exceedingly multifaceted violist. Her works have received numerous awards, including from Pro Helvetia. Without renouncing her classical roots, Spina continues to work and conduct research in the most varied of areas: She performs as a member of the Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain and numerous other contemporary music ensembles, takes an avid interest in both microtonal and spectral music, and delves into the tone system of Arabian music with the Egyptian violinist Abdou Dagher. Her repertoire not only encompasses the most important solo and chamber music works from the 20th and 21 centuries, but also includes works written especially for her. Her interpretation of these works is – where possible – developed together with the composer.
She has collaborated in this manner with Salvatore Sciarrino, Georges Aperghis, Michel Roth, Eric Gaudibert, Alfred Zimmerlin, Manos Tsangaris et al. Anna Spina has premiered innumerable works and performed at the festivals Archipel Genève, MärzMusik Berlin, Biennale Bern, Musik der Jahrhunderte Stuttgart, Tage für neue Musik Zürich, Musica de Hoy Madrid, Les Amplitudes La Chaux-de-Fonds, International New Music Festival Wuhan.
The project "trois femmes", an intercultural Swiss-China dialogue, received an award from Pro Helvetia in 2008. Anna Spina was Pro Helvetia's Artist in Residence at their Cairo atelier in 2005.

Georges Aperghis: Commentaires théâtre musical
Georges Aperghis: Volte-Face für Viola Solo
Georges Aperghis: Zig Bang
Luciano Berio: Voci per viola e orchestra
Luciano Berio: Naturale per viola e percussione
Pierre Boulez: Le marteau sans maître
Xavier Dayer: De la juste nuit für Viola, Bassklarinette, Santur
Morton Feldman: The Viola of my Life 3 für Viola und Klavier
Morton Feldmann: The Viola of my Life 2 für Viola solo und Ensemble
Katrin Frauchiger: An eine Tänzerin for two sopranos, flute, viola, violoncello and piano
Katrin Frauchiger: Pompejï-Fragmente I-III for soprano, viola and violoncello
Eric Gaudibert: A... in Wonderland for viola and ensemble (fl, ob, cl/tbn/perc/pf/vn,vc)
Gérard Grisey: Prologue für Viola solo
Rico Gubler: In Sand gemeisselt for viola, violoncello and percussion
Georg Friedrich Haas: Doppelkonzert für Akkordeon, Viola und Kammerensemble
Saed Haddad: Intimate für Viola, Bassklarinette, Schlagzeug
Heinz Holliger: Trema for viola (or violoncello or violin) solo
Klaus Huber: Die Erde bewegt sich auf den Hörnern eines Ochsen for 4 Arabian and 2 European musicians and electronic tape
Rudolf Kelterborn: Duet for viola and contrabass clarinet
Mischa Käser: City 2 for traditional Egyptian ensemble (kawala, rababa, quanun, percussion), clarinet and string trio
Tristan Murail: C'est un jardin secret pour alto solo
Giorgio Netti: lassù per viola preparata e amplificata
Giorgio Netti: e poi per viola preparata e amplificata
Giorgio Netti: ciclo del ritorno per viola solo
Marie-Cécile Reber: Twiriwir for viola and electronic
Michel Roth: Plaie et Douceur for viola solo
Denis Schuler: Lune bleu for viola solo
Arnold Schönberg: Verklärte Nacht, op. 4 für Streichsextett
Arnold Schönberg: Kammersinfonie, op. 9
Salvatore Sciarrino: Tre notturni brillanti für Viola solo
Salvatore Sciarrino: Ai limiti della notte für Viola solo
Bettina Skrzypczak: Arcato for viola solo
Simon Steen-Andersen: Study for String instrument #2 für Rhababa and whammy pedal
Hassan Taha: …into the ocean für Stimme, Viola, Bassklarinette, Santur/Zarb
Hassan Taha: Der Würfelspieler für Stimme (arabisch), Viola, Bassklarinette, Santur/Zarb
Yi Xu: Qing pour alto sonorisé
Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Sonate für Viola solo
Works for Viola Solo (NEOS Nr. 10920, 2010)
Spina, Anna
With more works of: George Aperghis, Salvatore Sciarrino, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Gérard Grisey
el-sabr gameel (Musiques Suisses Nr. MGB CTS-M 111, 2008)
Spina, Anna
Giger, Paul
Käser, Mischa: City 2 (2005)
Gaudibert, Eric: Le chant de la rose (2008)
Zimmerlin, Alfred: Rayyis Fikri and the Magic Square (2008)
Zimmerlin, Alfred: er-innern (2006)
Giger, Paul: Ruland-Zäuerli (2008)
Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain (Grammont Porträt Nr. MGB CTS-M97, 2006)
Spina, Anna
Monot, Pierre-Alain
Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain NEC
Wen, De-Qing: Quatre poésies (1999)
Meierhans, Mela: Souffle combattant (2005)
With more works of: Georges Aperghis
Haffter, Christoph: Works for Viola Solo: Aperghis, Grisey, Sciarrino, B.A. Zimmermann (Anna Spina, Viola), in: Dissonanz 114 (2011), S. 81 [Internet]

Last updated: 2020-10-06 16:48:10